‘I won’t Resign’, Tukur Vows As Metuh, 11 Others Set To Quit

Olisa Metu


The National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic (PDP), Bamanga Tukur on Tuesday described as false, media reports that has directed him and other Executive members to resign.

He fielded questions from correspondents shortly after the National Working Committee of the PDP held closed doors meeting with at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

The meeting he said was conveyed by the President to discuss the observation raised by the Independent National Electoral Committee (INEC) regarding the need to regularize the of some of the national officers.

His words, “It is not true that I am resigning. Resign for what? It is not true at all. We are here to run the PDP and we have done so and we will continue to run the PDP”.

Mr Tukur spoke further on their mission at the Aso Rock, “The meeting is about regularising the family of PDP because there was INEC observation, some of the members of the NWC we not properly elected so it has to be regularized.

“Those who have not been elected will resign and they will go back, they will have opportunity to regularise.

“About eight people are affected. These are three people that are not affected, they the National Chairman, the National Financial Secretary, National Auditor and of course National Secretary which is vacant now.

“The other eight people are all the deputies, and ex-officio and the rest of them whose election in the convention was not voted for”.

The national chairman also informed that the Board of Trustees (BOT) of the party will meet on Wednesday and the national Executive Council (NEC) on Thursday.

Meanwhile, the following national officers are expected to resign and re-contest: The National Publicity Secretary,Olisa Metuh, the Deputy National Chairman- Sam Sam Jaja; National Organising Secretary- Abubakar Mustapha; Deputy National Organising Secretary, Okechukwu Nnadozie; Deputy National Publicity Secretary, Binta Goje; National Youth Leader, Garba Chiza; Deputy Youth Leader, Dennis Alonge Niyi; Deputy National Auditor, Umar Ibrahim; National Women Leader, Kema Chikwe; Deputy National Women Leader, Hannatu Ulam; Deputy National Treasurer, Claudus Inengas; and National Legal Adviser, Victor Kwom.






Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply