PDP Retains Tukur As Chairman


The National Executive Committee (NEC) of the ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDP) on Thursday retained Alhaji Bamanga Tukur as the National Chairman of the party.

The NEC also ratified the 20 acting members of the National Working Committee (NWC) and accepted the resignation of eight of its national officers at a meeting in Abuja.

The News Agency of Nigeria () recalls that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had said that the election of the affected eight national officers was irregular.

The meeting, which was attended by President Goodluck Jonathan, approved the former Deputy Speaker of the , Hon. Chibudom Nwuche as acting National Deputy Chairman.

The meeting also ratified the appointment of Mr Remi Akintoye as the acting National Secretary and Alhaji Hamisu Abubakar as the acting National Organising Secretary.

The others include Mr Simon Jok, acting Legal Adviser and Mr Tony Okeke, acting .

Briefing newsmen after the meeting, the former Minister of Information, Prof. Jerry Gana, said the party accepted the resignation of the national officers affected by the INEC report.

He said the party approved the acting national officers and their deputies in order to avoid any vacuum in the running of the party affairs.

He said that a special national convention would hold on July 11 to formally re-elect the sacked officers who contested the election in March, 2012.

He said that another mini zonal convention would hold in the South West on July 11, to elect candidates for the post of national secretary.

The former information minister said that NEC passed a vote of confidence on President Jonathan for all his achievements in office.

He assured the president of the party support.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply