Nasarawa Assembly dissolves minority positions, names new minority leader

The Nasarawa of Assembly on Tuesday announced Mr Abel Yakubu Bala (-Nassarawa Eggon West) as its new Minority leader.

The Speaker of the House, Alhaji Ibrahim Abdullahi, who made the announcement during the House sitting in Lafia, said the appointment was immediate effect.

Abdullahi said the House dissolved all other minority positions, leaving only that of the minority leader.

“We have met and have agreed to appoint a new Minority Leader in the person of Abel Yakubu Bala, the former Minority Whip and this takes immediate effect.

“In the same vein, all other minority positions in the House stand dissolved, “he said.

The (NAN) reports that the appointment of a new minority leader is coming barely a day after the suspension of the Deputy Minority Leader of the House, Mr Luka Iliya Zhekaba ( -Obi 2).

NAN also recalls that the former minority leader, Mr Danladi Jatau , (Kokona West) defected from and joined the , leaving the position vacant.

The Deputy minority leader thereafter assumed the position of minority leader at the floor of the House before his suspension.

The minority positions dissolved include: Deputy Minority Leader, Minority Whip and Deputy Minority Whip respectively.

NAN further reports that out of 24 members in the House, has 20, PDP has 3 and Zenith Labour Party ZLP has one.

The House was inaugurated on the June 10, 2019 with 15 members, PDP 7, 1 and ZLP 1 in that order. ( NAN)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply