Post-2011 election violence: FG disburses funds to states

Post election violenceThe Federal Government on Thursday disbursed N5,747,649,780 to the eight states affected by the 2011 post-election violence and civil disturbances.

Vice President Mohammed Namadi Sambo, who presided over the disbursement at the State House, , said: “It is with deepest sense of sorrow that President Goodluck Jonathan and indeed the entire government and people of remain deeply pained by the violent acts and civil disturbances which necessitated today’s event.”

Sambo regretted that after the transparent efforts that produced the election that was universally acknowledged as being highly successful, the national joy was marred by sporadic acts of violence and civil disturbance in some parts of the country.

However, he restated that the programmes of the administration are on course and no amount of crisis or violence will pose a challenge to the resolve to deliver on government’s promises as well as ensure the safety and security of all citizens.

“President Jonathan in his magnanimity has graciously approved the disbursement of financial assistance to the victims of the 2011 post-election violence after a painstaking process of assessments, verification and collaboration between the Federal Government and the concerned States,” he said.

Sambo commended the Investigative Panel chaired Sheik Ahmed Lemu and Justice Samson O. Uwaifo as Vice Chairman, for showing great courage, dedication and sound judgement, which has helped the country at a very trying time.

He noted that the disbursement of the funds was part of the panel’s recommendations, which looked at the need for political/constitutional reforms, as they tried to ascertain the number of persons who lost their lives or sustained injuries, the spread and extent of loss and damage to means of livelihood as well as the cost of damage to persons and public properties and places of worship.

The following states affected by the post-election violence and the corresponding amount given to it are: Bauchi State, – N1,574,879,000; – 93,253,485.00; – N433,375,875; Jigawa State – N208,667,634.00; – N1,973,209,440.00; Kano State – N944,827,000.00; Adamawa State – N420,089,840.00; Akwa Ibom State – N43,504,000.00.


Other states such as Borno, Yobe, Nassarawa, Gombe and Kaduna would be paid their due accordingly.

For proper supervision of disbursement of the funds, Sambo said Mr. President has approved that for each state there will be an Implementation Committee that will consist of the Governor of his Deputy as chairman.

Other members will include representative of the State, Secretary of the Sheik Lemu-led Panel of Enquiry, representative of the Office of the Secretary of the Government of the Federation, representative of the Federal Ministry of Lands, Housing and Urban Development and the representative of various Pay Offices of the each state.

Responding on behalf of the beneficiary states, the Governor of Bauchi State, Isah Yuguda, expressed appreciation to President Jonathan for the assistance and assured that justice and equity would be done to the funds



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply