Pankshin LG boss tasks legislators on people-oriented law making

Mr. Kakmena AudiGoteng, Chairman, Pankshin Local Government Area of Plateau, has urged the council’s legislators to make developmental and people-oriented laws that would benefit the people of the area.

AudiGoteng made the call on Monday when the newly-elected Principal Officers of the 5th legislative Assembly paid him a courtesy visit in his office.

“As legislators, you should critically look at our society and legislate on life styles and happenings that are detrimental to our peace and togetherness.

“This is to bring about sanity and peaceful coexistence for development opportunities to thrive.

“The involvement of youths in societal vices like drugs, cultism and crimes must be checked and stemmed if we must enjoy peace and attain the desired growth and development.

“You must rise to the occasion by making developmental and people-oriented laws that would help to instill discipline amongst all citizens of Pankshin local government area, Plateau and Nigeria ,” he said.

He congratulated the legislators for their emergence as principal officers of the council’s legislative arm.

The chairman urged them to carry along their members in all their dealings so as to avoid frictions and encumbrances.

He said he was counting on their support to successfully pilot the affairs of the council, and prayed God to see them through in their endeavours.

He noted that “together we can make Pankshin better than we met it.”

Earlier, the Leader of the legislative arm, Nanfwang Aristacus of Jing ward, said the courtesy visit was in demonstration of their readiness to harmoniously work with him to pilot the council to greater heights.

“As principal officers of this council’s legislative arm, we feel that we need to come and liaise with you, our executive chairman, and see how best we can work together and give the citizens of Pankshin a purposeful leadership,”Aristacus said.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that other principal officers on the visit include: Deputy leader, Hon. Panmun Longwap-Tokkat (Fier Ward), Majority Leader, Hon. Gershinen Yilmazaka (Pankshin Central Ward).

Others are: Deputy Majority Leader, Hon. Damulak Joseph (Kangmun Ward), Chief Whip, Hon. Philemon Mwanang (Tal B Ward) and the Deputy Chief Whip, Hon. Bitrus Gomos (Wesili Ward). (NAN)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply