Oluomo emerges Speaker of Ogun 9th Assembly


Mr Olakunle Oluomo (APC-Ifo-1), the immediate past deputy speaker of Ogun House of Assembly was on Monday elected as the Speaker of the 9th Assembly.

Oluomo was elected after his nomination by Mr Olakunle Sobukola (APC -Ikenne) and seconded by
by Mr Adegoke Adeyanju (ADC-Yewa North 1) shortly after the inauguration of the 9th Assembly.

In his acceptance speech, Oluomo, who appreciated God for the new position, promised to promote unity among the legislature, executive and the judiciary.

He assured that he would work together with his colleagues to ensure the growth and progress of the state.

Oluomo promised to cooperate with Gov. Dapo Abiodun to bring more dividends of democracy to the grassroots.

“The 9th legislature will not do anything that will be detrimental to the progress of the state.

“We will initiate and pass bills that will enhance the socio-economic development of the stat,’’ he said.

Mr Oludare Kadiri (APC-Ijebu North 1) was also elected unopposed as the Deputy Speaker of the House.

The speaker who thereafter swore-in other members of the 9th Assembly, called for a short recess, adding that the House would reconvene to announce names of other principal officers.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the 9th Assembly is made up of 15 APC members, seven APM members, three ADC members and one PDP member.

Dignitaries at the inauguration included -former Speakers, Muyiwa Oladipo, Titi Oseni-Gomez and Suraj Adekunbi, Sen. Iyabo Anisulowo, political party chieftains and traditional rulers.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply