Federation Cup: How Utibe Archibong Emerged Top Scorer- NFF

Utibe Archibong

By: Gracious Akujobi

The Competitions Department of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has revealed how Akwa Starlet forward, Utibe Archibong emerged the Top Scorer of the 2013 Federation Cup competition (men’s event), putting to rest needless speculation in a section of the media as to the winner of the trophy.
NFF’s Director of Competitions, Dr. Mohammed Sanusi said on Tuesday morning that he was disappointed that some reporters filed stories of an inexistent controversy without seeking to establish the facts by contacting the NFF.
“It is a shame that some people went to press and on the airwaves to weave a controversy that never existed. The player of Akwa Starlet FC, Utibe Archibong had the same tally of five goals at the end of the men’s competition as Musa Najare of Warri Wolves FC. But Archibong played fewer numbers of matches and in the true spirit of FIFA regulations and global best practice, he is the winner having played less number of matches than Najare.
“Gentlemen of the media should desist from creating artificial controversies. They would have saved themselves the trouble by simply cross-checking the facts with the Competitions Department.”

From available statistics, Archibong scored his five goals thus:

. Akwa Starlet Vs Kwara United (Round of 64) – 2 goals
. Dolphins FC Vs Akwa Starlet (Round of 32) – 1 goal
. Akwa Starlet Vs Abia Warriors (Round of 16) – 1 goal
. Akwa Starlet Vs Lobi Stars (Quarter finals) – 1 goal

From the statistics, Najare scored his five goals thus:

. Warri Wolves Vs Sportlight FC (Round of 32) – 1 goal
. Niger Tornadoes Vs Warri Wolves (Round of 16) – 1 goal
. Warri Wolves Vs Kano Pillars (Quarter finals) – 2 goals
. Warri Wolves Vs Enyimba FC (Final)            – 1 goal

However, Utibe Archibong, whose team crashed out in the quarter finals after a 2-1 defeat by Lobi Stars, played fewer number of matches in the competition than Musa Najare.
Two other players finished with four goals each. They are Kingsley Sokari of champions Enyimba FC and Oboto Cyril of Gombe United FC.
While Oboto scored all his four goals in one match (Gombe United Vs Bussdor FC – Round of 64), Sokari spread his goals for Enyimba FC against Police Machine (Round of 64); Remo Stars (Round of 32); Shooting Stars (Round of 16) and; Nasarawa United (Quarter finals).



Leave a Reply