EXCLUSIVE: Onome, Oshoala make list as Waldrum picks squad for Morocco

Captain Onome Ebi and Asisat Oshoala

By Harry Awurumibe, Editor Abuja Bureau

Veteran player cum captain, Onome Ebi and Four-time African Women’s Footballer of the Year Award winner, Asisat Oshoala have been named among the 25 players in Coach Randy Waldrum’s Super Falcons team to next week’s 12th CAF Africa Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON) Morocco 2022.

Prompt News Online has exclusively obtained an official list of 25 players selected by the United States-born gaffer to prosecute the AWCON final in Morocco.

Also, goalkeepers Chiamaka Nnadozie and Tochukwu Oluehi and dependable defenders, Alsheley Plumptre and Osinachi Ohale make the list.

Others in the Morocco-bound team are midfielders, Rasheedat Ajibade, Rita Chikwelu and attackers Ifeoma Onumonu, Uchenna Kanu, Francisca Ordega, and Nigeria Women’s Football League (NWFL) 2022 highest goalscorer, Monday Gift.

A closer look at the list shows that
Waldrum has opted for experience and consistency by selecting only players who have been in his plans since he was appointed by Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) as the coach of Nigeria’s senior women’s football team about a year ago.

Meanwhile, Waldrum has dropped no fewer than eight players who did not make the cut after nearly two weeks close camping in Abuja, the capital of Nigeria.

Those dropped from the team include goalkeeper Rita Akarekor and outfielders Amanda Mbadinuju, Charity Adule, Ugochi Emenayo, Anam Imo, Chidimma Okeke, Suliat Abideen and Opeyemi Sunday.

Nigeria Team to AWCON Morocco 2022:

Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC, France); Tochukwu Oluehi (Maccabi Kishronot Hadera, Israel); Yewande Balogun (Coppermine United, USA).

Defenders: Glory Ogbonna (Santa Teresa FC, Spain); Onome Ebi (En Avant Guingamp, France); Osinachi Ohale (Deportivo Alaves, Spain); Ashleigh Plumptre (Leicester City, England); Nicole Payne (West Virginia University, USA); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Akudo Ogbonna (Edo Queens)

Midfielders: Peace Efih (Kiryat Gat, Israel); Halimatu Ayinde (Eskilstuna FC, Sweden); Charity Adule (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain); Toni Oyedupe Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Regina Otu (Minsk FC, Belarus); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid, Spain); Rita Chikwelu (Madrid CFF, Spain).

Forwards: Francisca Ordega (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Vivian Ikechukwu (WFC Gintra, Lithuania); Chinonyerem Macleans (GSK Gornik Leczna, Poland); Ifeoma Onumonu (NY/NJ Gotham FC, USA); Uchenna Kanu (Tigres Femenil, Mexico); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona, Spain)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply