Borno Govt Constitutes Committee on Minimum Wage

MAIDUGURI – Borno State Governor Babagana Zulum has approved the constitution of a committee on the implementation of the National Minimum Wage and Consequential Salary Adjustment.

The government side would be headed by Mr Kaka Shehu, the Commissioner for Justice, while Mr Inuwa Yusuf, the Chairman, Medical and Health Workers Union of Nigeria (MHWUN) would lead the labour side of the committee.

Usman Shuwa, the Secretary to the State Government (SSG),  in a statement on Tuesday, explained that the Head of Service (HOS) would serve as Co-Chairman to be assisted by nine other members on the government side.

He listed the members to include the Commissioner for Finance, Budget and Planning, the state Auditor General, and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Budget and Planning.

Others members are the Head of Biometric Unit; the Permanent Secretary, Public Service and Manpower Development, two former Head of Service (HOS) and Mr Idris Jalo, a retired Permanent Secretary.

While the Permanent Secretary, Administration and General Services would serve as secretary of the committee.

He added that the labour side of the committee comprised of 10 members drawn from the leaderships of various organisations and unions in the state.

According to him, the committee is expected to submit its report within three weeks.

Leave a Reply