Service Chiefs: Buhari writes Senate

Service Chiefs

By Olusegun Lawrence                  In line with the provision of the constitution, President Muhammadu Buhari Tuesday formally requested the Senate to screen and confirm the recently appointed Service Chiefs.

President Buhari in a letter read at plenary by the Senate President, Bukola Saraki, listed the Service Chiefs.

They are: Major-General Abayomi Olonishakin, Chief Of Defence Staff; General T.Y. Buratai, Chief Of Army Staff; Rear Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas, Chief Of Naval Staff and Air Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar, Chief Of Air Staff.

However, the Senate is yet to fix a date for the screening of the chiefs.

Prompt News recalls that the new Service Chiefs were appointed following the sack of the ones appointed in January 2014 by former President Goodluck Jonathan.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply