Para-soccer championship: Kano defeat Gombe 6-1 to reach semi-finals


The Kano State para-soccer team on Monday in Abuja defeated their Gombe State counterparts 6-1 at the ongoing National Para-Soccer Championship to qualify for the semi-finals.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that both teams put up an impressive performance in the match played at the Old Parade Ground.

Mudasiru Tijjani of Gombe team opened scoring before Abdullahi Otega equalised for the  Kano team before the end of the first half.

On resumption for the second half, Otega scored additional four goals, while Idris Mohammed added one to make it 6-1 for the Kano team.

The Kano Coach, Ibrahim Musa, told NAN after the game that he was overwhelmed by his team’s performance, noting that in spite of the of the difficult game, his team won the game to crown their hard work.

“It was a real battle for my players, but our opponents also displayed wonderful performances.

“My next plan is for us to take the trophy back home and as you can see we have 4X written at the back of our Jersey.

“This signifies that we have won the tournament four times, so, if we win this edition, it will be our fifth time and I am looking forward to wining the seventh edition,” he said.

“Our next game is on Wednesday when we will meet with the players of Group C, we will work harder for the maximum result.

In last year’s edition, we came second. Now we hope to take the trophy back,” he said.

His Gombe counterpart, Manga Sale, said the game was all about winning or losing or drawing.

He commended the players for their performance in spite of the challenges before the team, adding the goalkeeper and a player sustained injury before the last game.

“We have been coming to this tournament and we have been getting good results,” he said.

He also commended the organisers of the championship for providing the enabling environment for the players.

Earlier on Monday, the Kaduna team walked over Bauchi to automatically qualify for the semi-finals.

NAN reports that 10 teams were expected to participate in the championship but Bauch State was conspicuously absent.

The teams present are: Kano, Kaduna, Zamfara, Gombe, Katsina, Borno, Nasarawa, Sokoto and FCT.

The championship, which is the seventh edition started on Saturday at the Old Parade Ground, will end on Thursday to mark the World Polio Day.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply