Ondo 2020: Akeredolu, Jegede, Ajayi, others battle for 1,478m votes

L-R: Agboola Ajayi, Eyitayo Jegede, Gov. Rotimi Akeredolu

By Akeem Oyetunji

As the good people of Ondo state, southwest Nigeria, troop out today, Saturday, October 10, 2020, to elect a new Governor or renew the mandate of the incumbent, no fewer than 1.4 million votes are up for grabs.

The election which holds amidst tight security appears to be a straight fight between the incumbent Governor Rotimi Akeredolu, candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Eyitayo Jegede.

However, 17 political parties are on the ballot including the governorship candidate of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), Agboola Ajayi, who is a sitting deputy governor.

According to the Independent National Electoral Commission ((INEC), about 1,822,346 voters registered in the state but only 1,478,460 of them collected their PVCs hence, eligible to vote today.

Ondo State has 3,009 polling units, 203 registration areas in all 18 local government areas of the state.

Despite the charged atmosphere across the state, the state Resident Electoral Commissioner, Dr. Rufus Akeju,has assured that adequate security arrangements have been made to ensure a hitch-free election across the state.

“As we speak, everything required statutorily had been put in place for the registered voters in the state to vote for candidates of their choice on Saturday.

“In Addition, adequate security has been put in place by the commission in collaboration with security agencies through the Inter Agency Consultative Committee on Election Security (ICCES) to secure the voters.

“There is also adequate security for election officials, accredited observers, accredited journalists, election materials, among others, during the election, Dr. Akeju told newsmen in Akure, ahead of the poll.

Stakeholders have called on INEC to conduct transparent, free and credible election promised by President Muhammad Buhari by ensuring that votes count. #OndoDecides2020.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply