I’m committed to gender equity, says Gov. Bala Mohammed

Bauchi State Governor Bala Mohammed

The Bauchi State Government says it is committed to ensuring gender equity, fairness and transparency in the conduct of its affairs among its citizens.

Gov Bala Mohammed of Bauchi State said this in Bauchi on Wednesday during the swearing-in of two-newly appointed female commissioners and three permanent commissioners for the state Independent Electoral Commission respectively.

The newly appointed commissioners are: Mrs Maryam Bagel and Mrs Asama’u Ahmed. Also, the three permanent commissioners appointed into the state Independent Electoral Commission are: Adamu Zakari,Abdulmalik Wakili and Dauda Gayus.

He said that his administration was poised to ensuring gender participation in a participatory democracy.

The governor added that the commissioners were appointed to fill the vacant positions recently vacated by their former occupants.

He said that the commissioners would be deployed to the Ministry of Commerce and the Ministry of Culture and Tourism.

“We expect them to deploy their acumen, invention and ingenuity toward making the state a great one,” he said.

He challenged the Ministry of Culture and Tourism to boost and improve the tourism potential of the state, especially, the Yankari and Suma Games’ Reserves for economic development.

He advised the Commissioner for Commerce to strive hard and revive the comatose industries, so that they would become fully functional and productive.

He said, “We will support you to succeed.”

Gov. Mohammed also charged the three permanent commissioners deployed to the state Independent Electoral Commission (BASIEC) to discharge their functions with the fear of God.

He noted that the state was warming up to conduct local government elections across in its 20 local government council areas on Oct.17, adding that they should be fair to all.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Mrs Maryam Bagel was deployed to the Ministry of Commerce while Mrs Asama’u Ahmed was posted to the Ministry of Culture and Tourism.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply