France awarded penalty in 1st VAR overrule at World Cup




KAZAN, was awarded a penalty using the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) system in their Group C match with Australia on Saturday.

Antoine Griezmann scored the 57th minute spot kick.

In a first, referee Andres Cunha did not initially award a penalty after Greizmann was brought down by Joshua Risdon.

He was alerted by the VAR to a possible penalty and went over to the pitch side monitor.

On review, he decided it was a spot kick.

The VAR system is making its first appearance at a .

Four VAR officials, sitting in a room at the International Broadcasting Centre on the outskirts of Moscow are assisting match officials at the tournament.

(dpa/)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply