EU, UNIDO Back Nigeria’s Competitiveness In Non-Oil Sector With N2.5b

EU Logo

The European Union and United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) Monday signed an Agreement of N2.5 billion (€12 million Euro) to support in improving quality infrastructure in the non-oil, productive sectors of the economy. 

The support will be delivered through the unique technical competence of United Nations Development Organisation (UNIDO).


Dr. David MacRae, Ambassador of the European Union to and ECOWAS, emphasised during the signing ceremony held in with UNIDO Resident Representative and Director, Dr. Patrick M. Kormawa, that “the EU attaches a great importance to the diversification of ’s oil economy, the role of the private sector in the creation of employment and the improvement of the living conditions of all its citizens.

The support brought by the EU, in team with UNIDO, to help improve Nigeria’s quality infrastructure is one good step in that direction.”   


The National Quality Infrastructure (NQI) of Nigeria Project aims to support the improvement and establishment of standards and quality control agencies in order to improve the quality of products and services exchanged in the Nigerian and international markets and thus boost the competiveness of the Nigerian private sector and the protection of its consumers.


Specifically, the project will support the following:


Promulgation of a National Quality Policy (NQP),

The establishment of a National Accreditation Body (NAB),

Providing equipment and training for the National Metrology Institute (NMI),

Facilitate private participation and support Conformity Assessment Bodies (CAB), and

Ensure participation of Consumer Protection Council (CPC) and other stakeholders in the NQI through training and awareness creation on quality and consumer protection.


The project is part of a wider Financing Agreement signed between the European Union and Nigeria to stimulate the Competiveness of Nigeria and one of the many contributions brought by the EU to the people of Nigeria under the 2008-2013, 10th European Development Fund.      



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply