BREAKING: Osun Poll: Aregbesola Emerges Winner, Floors Omisore

Gov Aregbesola

The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate and incumbent Governor of Osun State, Rauf Aregbesola, has been re-elected.

He defeated the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Iyiola Omisore in the Saturday, August 9 governorship election, polling 394,684 votes.

Aregbesola, won in over two third of the 30 Local Government Areas of the State while the PDP candidate, Omisore, polled 292,747.

The Labour Party (LP) candidate, Fatai Akinbade, only managed to garner 8,898 votes to come third.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Returning Officer for Osun State governorship election, Prof Bamitale Omole, Vice Chancellor of the University, announced the result.

“Ogbeni Rauf .A. Aregbesola of APC having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest votes is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected,” the Returning officer formally announced.

Aregbesola, won in Local Government Areas including Irepodun, Irewole, Obokun, Iwo, Olorunda, Oriade, Ola Oluwa, Atakumosa, Osogbo, Atakumosa West, Ayedade, Ilesha South, Ilesha North, Ayedire, Boripe, Egbedore, Ejigbo, Ede North, Ifedayo, Ifelodun and Ede North.

The PDP candidate, Omisore won in Odo-Otin, Ife South, Ife North, Ife Central and Isokan.

Interestingly, some political bigwigs like former Governor Olagunsoye Oyinlola, declared for the APC at the eleventh hour; former Minister of State for Defence, PDP’s Olusola Obada and Mr. Omisore’s running mate, Adejare Bello, lost in their wards.

The election took off on a peaceful note with election materials arriving most polling units on time.

However, there were accusations and counter-accusations by the major parties- APC and PDP.

While collation was ongoing, former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, had called on the people of Osun State to guard and guide their votes jealously.

The full results:

Ifedayo APC 4,225 PDP 3982
Boluwaduro APC 4,891 PDP 5,035
Ilesha East APC 16,106 PDP 5,913
Odo Otin APC 11,950 PDP 12,902
Ilesha West APC 15,427 PDP 5,449
Orolu APC 8,558 PDP 6,786
Oriade APC 12,523 PDP 10,214
Atakumosa APC 6,928 PDP 5,142
Ede South APC 11,738 PDP 7,462
Ila Oragun APC 10,825 PDP 7,916
Boripe APC 12,723 PDP 9,344
Irepodun APC 13,314 PDP 7,386
Ife Central APC 9,680 PDP 24,555
Ife East APC 13,821 PDP 20,831
Ola Oluwa APC 7,927 PDP 4,963
Isokan APC 9,758 PDP 10,028
Ife North APC 8,603 PDP 9,841
Ede North APC 15,403 PDP 10,427
Ifelodun APC 17,447 PDP 12,442
Ayedaade APC 12,801 PDP 11,255
Obokun APC 11,696 PDP 8,618
Irewole APC 18,328 PDP 10,330
Egbedore APC 10,215 PDP 7024
Aiyedire APC 7,724 PDP 7,813
Iwo APC 20,827 PDP 15,493
Osogbo APC 39,983 PDP 11,513
Olorunda APC 26,551 PDP 8,483
Atakumota East APC 9,287 PDP 6,294 (Election did not hold in Alarere polling unit)
Ife South APC 7,325 PDP 12,811
Ejigbo APC 17,700 PDP 12,495

Meanwhile, election did not hold in Alarere polling unit in Atakumosa East LGA while 11 polling units recorded over voting and forged signatures in Ejigbo.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply