BREAKING: At last, Buhari appoints new Service Chiefs

Chief of Army Staff, Major General I. Attahiru

By Harry Awurumibe, Editor, Abuja Bureau

President Muhammadu Buhari and his Service Chiefs have finally parted ways as he has subsequently appointed their replacement with immediate effect.

This piece of information was dropped Tuesday by the Presidential Spokesman, Femi Adesina who disclosed in press statement that President Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the former Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

According to Adesina, those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

He said President Buhari thanked the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he called their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The President congratulated the new Service Chiefs, and urged them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities, Adesina said.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply