AWCON 2022: CAF names Nigerien referees for Cote d’Ivoire, Nigeria final battle

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has picked Nigerien official Zouwaira Souley as the centre referee for Wednesday’s 2022 Africa Women Cup of Nations (AWCON) final qualifying match between Cote d’Ivoire and Nigeria in Abidjan.

In a statement by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) on Monday, Souley will work alongside compatriot Hawa Douno Moussa (assistant referee 1), Lamouni Latiifah Laura Pare from Burkina Faso (assistant referee 2) and another Nigerien, Nafissa Sani (fourth official).

Ayawa Mana Mawoufemo Dzodope from Togo will serve as Match Commissioner, with another Togolese, Latré-Kayi Edzona Lawson-Hogban as referee assessor.

The Super Falcons, holders of the trophy which they have lifted nine times, won the first leg at the Moshood Abiola National Stadium, Abuja, 2-0 on Friday, both goals coming off the boots of US-based forward, Ifeoma Onumonu.

Nigeria’s contingent to the return leg landed in the Ivorien capital, Abidjan, on Sunday evening and trained at the Palais des Sports in the Treichville area of the city.

The 23-woman Super Falcons squad includes: Capt. Onome Ebi, Onumomu, defender Ashleigh Plumptre, goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie, midfielders Rasheedat Ajibade, Toni Payne and forwards Esther Okoronkwo and Gift Monday.

Wednesday’s encounter will take place at the Stade Robert Champroux, Abidjan, while the Falcons are expected to have a feel of the match venue on Tuesday evening.

The winner on aggregate will join hosts Morocco and Uganda who are already qualified for the 12–team finals holding in Morocco July 2 to July 23 this year.

Super falcons in Abidjan:

Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi, Chiamaka Nnadozie, Yewande Balogun

Defenders: Onome Ebi, Osinachi Ohale, Ashleigh Plumptre, Rofiat Imuran, Oluwatosin Demehin, Michelle Alozie, Nicole Payne

Midfielder: Rita Chikwelu, Rasheedat Ajibade, Toni Payne, Regina Otu, Peace Efih, Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene

Forwards: Uchenna Kanu, Francisca Ordega, Gift Monday, Christy Ucheibe, Mbadi Amanda, Ifeoma Onumonu, Esther Okoronkwo (NAN)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply